Float My Oats

 

floatmyoats

My love of Oatmeal began back in 2008 when I watched Alton Browns episode on Oatmeal.  I immediately started making oatmeal in the crock-pot. I loved how easy it was to wake up to those warm, cozy oats. I noticed that very few people shared my wild enthusiasm for oatmeal but after many sleepless nights contemplating this tragedy,  I concluded that its boring image needed to change.  The days of Ooey-gooey oatmeal drowned in milk, with predictable toppings, is over starting now.

Maybe itst the wanna-be-foodie in me, but oatmeal is meant to be bathed in Olive oil, a crack of pepper, shreds of sharp cheese and perfectly steamed vegetables. Its meant to swim in luscious coconut milk, with fresh  pineapple chunks, and shaved coconut. I could go on and on..and I promise I will.

I have tried numerous cooking methods but a couple years ago my friend Heidi introduced me to my favorite method, the rice cooker.

floatmyoats1

It is really fast and I love the texture, Its more like rice than a porridge.

I usually turn the rice cooker on when I first wake up and then come back to it when I’m finished getting ready for the day.

I use a 2 to 1 ratio of  water and steel cut oats. You can sub the water for just about any liquid. My favorite substitutions are chicken stock and coconut milk.

Here are my go-to recipes

Savory Oatmeal in Rice Cooker

  • Servings: 3
  • Difficulty: extra easy
  • Print

Ingredients

1 Teaspoon Chicken Better Than Bouillon ( low sodium)

2 Cups Warm Water

1 Cup Steel Cut Oats

Directions

Add bouillon paste to warm water and stir until dissolved. Add steel cut oats and water to rice cooker, set to “brown rice” and let it do its magic.  Be sure to check your rice cooker for specific directions on cooking oatmeal.  My cooker takes about 20 minutes for a small batch and 40 for a large batch.  Add toppings.

Sweet Oatmeal in Rice Cooker

  • Servings: 3
  • Difficulty: extra easy
  • Print

Ingredients

1 Cup  Water

1 Cup Coconut Milk

1 Cup Steel Cut Oats

1 Tablespoon Butter

1 Tablespoon Honey

Directions:

Add steel cut oats, water, and coconut milk to rice cooker, set to “brown rice” and let it do its magic.  Be sure to check your rice cooker for specific directions on cooking oatmeal.  My cooker takes about 20 minutes for a small batch and 40 for a large batch.  Once the rice cooker is done, stir in butter and honey until mixed well.  Add toppings.

The possibilities are endless when it comes to oatmeal.  You may be skeptical but that is OK.  I look forward to converting you.
xoxosarah

2 thoughts on “Float My Oats

Leave a Reply

